Final solution to problems caused by 2003 migration

In my previous blog entry "Problems Caused by Migration from 2003" I indicated that I’d been able to fix the problem. Unfortunately this wasn’t entirely correct as we discovered over the next few hours after that blog post. Although we could add projects they weren’t being created within the system plus there were a number of other apparent issues that in the end left me with no alternative than to roll back the VM to a point in time before we started the migation activity and reloading the WSS2.0 content db into SQL server.
I then attempted to run the STSADM command to attach the content and have it upgraded and available in our MOSS server but now got t an error about an update conflict as shown below:
stsadm.exe -o addcontentdb -url {project2007 server} -databasename WSS_Contentdb_2003 -databaseserver projectdb2007.aunz.csc.com
An update conflict has occurred, and you must re-try this action. The object SPWebApplication Name=SharePoint – Project2007Server Parent=SPWebService is being updated by domain\myAccount, in the STSADM process, on machine {project2007 server}.  View the tracing log for more information about the conflict.
 
I tried numerous was to get the STSADM command to run with no success and the MOSS server did in fact still think that the 2003 content database was already connected. I figured to get the content db to upgrade from scratch I would need to detach it from the MOSS environment and this might clear things up.
 
I tried the deletecontentdb option but STSADM wouldn’t allow it. In fact it thought it wasn’t even associated with the web application even though the enumcontentdbs indicated it was.
 
Next I detached the db in SQL server and closed the connections. I then attached it again but with a different name and tried to rerun the STSADM -o addcontentdb command. Same error as before so the MOSS front end web server is definitely where the road block is at but something else entirely is blocking the command.
 
Next, I thought maybe a reboot of the front end web server would clear whatever information seemed to be cached about the aborted run of the STSADM command a few days ago. No luck there,  when it came up and I reran the addcontentdb command I received the same message.
 
I recalled that in my travel trying to fins a resolution to the problem I cam across one blog post with a similar (it was on OWSTIMER instead of STSADM) error message suggested running the SharePointProducts and Technologies Configuration wizard. I gave this a shot and it ran through but couldn’t register SharePoint Services and failed with an error…
Microsoft.SharePoint.Administration.SPUpdatedConcurrencyException was thrown.
Additional exception information: An update conflict has occurred, and you must
re-try this action. The object DiagnosticsService Parent=SPFarm
Name=SharePoint_Config is being updated by domain\myAccount
 
This was a new one so I googled it and found a blog post on blogsmsdn.com with the same error mentioned. I followed the suggested resolution here which seems to be a way of invalidating the MOSS local config cache and forcing it to refresh. After following this resolution process I tried immediately to run the addcontentdb command again and received the following error:
An update conflict has occurred, and you must re-try this action. The object SPWebApplication Name=SharePoint – Project2007Server Parent=SPWebService is being updated by domain\MOSSAccount, in the OWSTIMER process, on machine {project2007 server}.  .  View the tracing log for more information about the conflict.
 
This looked promising because I had just reset the timer service and you would expect that it would be reasonable for it to block updates while it’s rebuilding the cache.
I waited for a while and this time when I ran the addcontentdb command it ran successfully. It took over 7 hours to upgrade the 35Gb of WSS2.0 content.
After loading our 2003 projects using the P12MigrationTool utility and some extensive testing it looks like we finally have the migrated environment up and running.correctly. 
2 Comments

Filed under Project Server 2007

2 responses to “Final solution to problems caused by 2003 migration

  1. Gastón

    Dear Mr. Barrett, it looks that you have a lot more experience migrating to project server 2003. I am just working on my third migration, so far so good with the two first, but my third one its being a nightmare.
    I was wondering if you might have come across the problem I am facing or if you might have an idea of what I am doing wrong.
    I am trying to migrate from PS2003 to PS2007 on a different computer
    following the data migration approach described as “Migration for office project server 2007” book.
    1.I run the sharepoint prescan tool on the shp 2 sp2 DB with no errors.
    As a result in the prescan log I have noticed that some project
    sites are based on the default pwa template and many other sites on a custom template. This is reported by the prescan tool as:
    02/13/2008 15:06:03 Scanning SPWeb: http://servidorbb/sites/ProjectServer_102
    02/13/2008 15:06:03 Web is using custom template "PWA".
    02/13/2008 15:06:03 Updating list schema in web.

    And
    02/13/2008 15:06:04 Scanning SPWeb: http://servidorbb/sites/projectserver_114
    02/13/2008 15:06:04 Web is using custom template "MYCOMPANY".
    02/13/2008 15:06:04 Updating list schema in web.

    My problem is that when I run the p12migration tool (with the publish option) the projects based on the pwa template get published ok, but the ones based on the other template aren’t.
    Any ideas of what can be happening?

    Any help will be appreciated.
    Thank you very much
    Gaston

  2. David

    The error we\’re experiencing is very similar except we\’re stuck in the STSADM process instead of the OWSTimer process. Any ideas on how to resolve this issue. Thx..An update conflict has occurred, and you must re-try this action. The object SPWebApplication Name=ProjectServer2007_PWA Parent=SPWebService is being updated by domain\\Moss_Account, in the STSADM process, on machine project server. View the tracing log for more information about the conflict.

Leave a Reply

