Error publishing a form to a forms library

I encountered an interesting problem today when trying to publish a form as the template for a forms library. I had been doing some work on the form in the InfoPath 2007 client and publishing it successfully to the forms library. I needed to write some code to perform some custom actions on the loading event so I created an InfoPath project in Visual Studio 2008 and used my form as the template. After adding my code and starting the publish process I enter the URL to the MOSS site that hosts the Forms Library and I received the error…
 
InfoPath cannot find or cannot access the following Web server: http://myMOSSdev.com
Make sure that the Web server is valid, that your proxy setting are correct, and that you have the necessary permissions to publish to this library.
If the server requires you to log on through the browser, log on there and select the option to remember your log on information, then try to publish again.
 
The web server was valid, all my settings were correct and I knew I had the correct permissions because nothing had changed on the server since before I moved the form into VS2008. Just in case, I double checked that I could still access the site using my browser without any problems. Everything looked fine.
After a look around I found that for some reason when you move to VS2008 you need to enable ‘Allow management of content types’ on the forms library. This was then comfirmed by the Microsoft knowledge base article 925431.
To enable the Allow management of content types option, follow these steps:

1.

Open the document library, click Settings, and then click Form Library Setting.

2.

Click Advanced settings.

3.

Under Allow management of content types, click Yes, and then click OK.

Leave a comment

Filed under Microsoft Office Sharepoint Server 2007

Leave a Reply

