MMS stopped working in Windows Media Player

A month or two ago for no apprent reason MMS support (streaming media) stopped working in Windows Media Player (WMP). Whenever I tried to go to a media stream such as mms://stream1.cnmns.net/1032  I would receive the following error message…

Windows Media Player cannot play the file because the specified protocol is not supported.
If you typed a URL in the Open URL dialog box, try using a different transport protocol (for example, "http:" or "rtsp:").

I’m currently on WMP version 11 and MMS had been working since I received my new laptop a year ago. I can’t see any reason why this occurred, such as applying a hotfix or service pack, and all the obvious settings in WMP for MMS are switched on. The same thing happened on my old laptop and I gave up trying to find a solution as apparently, if you do some searching/reading, MMS isn’t supported anymore anyway.

Well it looks like I’ve found a solution after stubling across this Microsoft Support article. I ran the following steps and its working again…

Step 1. Start a CMD window with elevated privileges. If you don’t start it as Administrator you’ll receive the error “The module ‘wmnetmgr.dll’ was loaded but the call to DllRegisterServer failed with error code 0x8002801c” when you run step 2.
Step 2. Enter regsvr32 wmnetmgr.dll
Step 3. Click OK on the regsvr32 window that pops up.
Step 4. Start WMP and the MMS stream will now work…it does for me anyway 🙂

Leave a comment

Filed under Computers and Internet

Leave a Reply

