My new Action Camera

I’ve been looking at purchasing a ‘Action Camera’ for a while for recording during my frequent rides. I dipped my toe in the water and had a ‘lipstick’ camera mounted on my helmet for a short time about a 18 months ago. It was small and light but didn’t have the battery life to last more than an hour and resolution was lower than SD. The resolution wasn’t a huge issue given I really only wanted it to capture those occasions when ‘stuff’ happens. The battery life meant that the ‘lipstick’ camera wasn’t much use so I returned it and got my money back as the advertised battery life was significantly different to reality.
Since then I’ve been watching what’s available  and have looked at what I saw as the main contenders – Go Pro, Garmin Virb and the Shimano Sport Camera  CM-1000. I’ve never really been a fan of the Go Pro for bike applications due to its size and the horizontal mount profile so the Garmin and the Shimano with their horizontal profile where the main contenders for me.
  • It is the smallest and lightest of the cameras,
  • Fully waterproof to 10 meters without an additional casing (meets the IPX-8 Waterproof Standard – the best rating for electronics experiencing continuous underwater use). I think the Virb was IPX-7 which covers incidental splashing and brief immersion)
  • can be set to super wide 180 degree or standard 135 degree video capture. Whilst riding I use the 180 degree setting
  • comes with a 16Gb memory card,
  • has wifi connectivity to mobile devices (IOS and Android) to allow live views, video playback, remote adjustments to camera settings and shot framing.
  • has ANT/ANT+ integration which enables the device to record data from your heart rate monitor, speed and cadence sensors and create video with this data displayed. The software to do the video/data merge was due to be release last month but I haven’t seen it on the Shimano site yet. Here is a sample of what its supposed to look like
  • the mounting system is identical to the Go Pro so if I decide to buy additional mounts or expand my use of it I wont have any trouble finding a mount to suit my needs

Here is a video that whilst fishing based explains the features of the camera very well..

Shimano Fishing UK – Sports Camera CM-1000

Here are some examples of the video captured using a Shimano Sports Camera at the recent Tour of California…

Jens Voigt at the Tour of California

88km Descent at the Tour of California

Last 3km of Stage 8 of the Tour of California

 

3 Comments

Filed under Cycling

3 responses to “My new Action Camera

  1. xbox155

    Decent read currently scanning about myself and probably in the same boat as you back in October, how is it fairing a month or so on ? does it tick all the boxes ? have you used the overlay feature ? nearly time to press the buy button but interested in your views.

    Shimano think is topping the list, virb not for me, go pro like yourself just doesn’t look right along with CamOne sim style

    • I’m using it every ride ad still love it. I’ll share two frustrtations I’ve had that relate more to Shimanos support than to the camera.
      The first is they still don’t seem to havwe released the complimentary software to more the ANT+ data with the video post ride and the only option to do this is to purchase 3rd party software.

      The second is their complete late of response to my queries about the software release and also about where I can buy their accessories. I’ve tried their facebook for the camera and a couple of other avenues and have still had nothing back from them.

      • xbox155

        Very average from a big company, I’d guess when it does arrive it will work like most of there stuff. I bought one just couldn’t wait 🙂 gadget and bikes brilliant

Leave a Reply

